Wednesday, November 17, 2010

From the President's Desk: General Education And Academic Program Review

Here is a note, regarding general education and academic program review, from President Dave Eisler (pictured in the mugshot) to the Ferris State University community discussing Ferris enrollment numbers for the Fall 2010 semester:
Last Tuesday Professor Fred Heck, the University’s General Education Coordinator presented an update on the General Education Task Force’s progress to the Strategic Planning and Resource Council. Task force members have been meeting with colleges for feedback on the draft set of outcomes that will help integrate the educational experience for Ferris students.

There will be two town hall meeting this week focusing on a first draft of student learning outcomes for the General Education Program. Those meetings with take place on Thursday, Nov. 18, at 11 a.m. in IRC 121 and Friday, Nov. 19, at 3 p.m. also in IRC 121. I want to express my thanks to committee members Dan Adsmond, Mike Berghoed, Tracy Busch, Terry Doyle, Fritz Erickson, Mike Feutz, Don Flickinger, Rick Griffin, Doug Haneline, Fred Heck, Leonard Johnson, Nancy Lashaway-Bokina, Elsie Lovested, Kristen Salomonson, Randall Schroeder, Nate Tymes, Mike Wagenheim and Lisa Wall. I hope you will attend one of this week’s meetings to provide input and help advance this important process.

On Tuesday evening the Academic Senate will gather to consider the report of the Academic Program Review Committee. The work of the APRC is an exemplary example of ongoing program review at our University. Program review requires many hours of effort by program faculty, chairs and heads in preparation and engagement with the process. Members of the APRC spend three hours each Tuesday and Thursday evening during the first ten weeks of the fall semester considering these submissions and preparing their report. I want to express my special thanks to their chair, Matt Wagenheim, and members Roger Daugherty, Lisa Eshbach, Brad Isler, George Nagel, Gregg Potter, Fran Rosen, Gary Todd and Helen Woodman for their powerful commitment to academics at our University.
Check back for more items from the desk of the president here on the Ferris State University Blog.

No comments:

Post a Comment